Back to all Blogs

Cisco Cybersecurity Specialist: Know About SCYBER Certification

The Cybersecurity Specialist certification from Cisco recognizes specialized network security professionals who have attained an in-depth expertise in proactive detection and mitigation of cyber threats. The certification leverages features of Cisco and other network security applications, and is designed for professional security analysts. In this blog post we take a closer look at the online Securing Cisco Networks with Threat Detection and Analysis (SCYBER) certification, which is associated with the Cybersecurity Specialist certification and is a step up after you have achieved proficiency in CCNA online certification in security.

Securing Cisco Networks with Threat Detection and Analysis (SCYBER)

Associated with Cisco Cybersecurity Specialist certification, the SCYBER or Securing Cisco Networks with Threat Detection and Analysis, aims  at providing knowledge and skills needed for proactive detection and mitigation of network security threats. The exam tests candidates’ skills in monitoring, incident response, and security event/traffic/alarm analysis. There are no prerequisites for the online certification except mandatory knowledge of CCNA Security and in-depth knowledge of TCP/IP.

The 600-199 SCYBER Exam

The purpose of the SCYBER exam is to validate a professional’s competence in dealing with cyber threats, in as af as detection and mitigation are concerned. Candidates are tested on data-collection tools, network-discovery tools, and other areas such as  alarms and event data analysis, taking appropriate actions on a security incident, and developing an organization’s incident response plan. The certification exam for cyber security specialists can be broken down percentage wise into following categories:  

  • Information Gathering and Security Foundations (13%)
  • Security Events and Alarms (16%)
  • Event Monitoring (16%)
  • Traffic Analysis, Collection, and Correlation (24%)
  • Operational Communications(15%)
  • Incident Response (16%)

Job Roles

Most security operations centers  or SOCs require professionals who possess comprehensive job exposure to data-collection tools such as SIEMs (also known as Security Information and Event Management tools), and able to interpret event data to determine appropriate incident responses. After completing a CCNA online certification and getting SCYBER certification, you can apply for the following jobs :

  • Incident Response Examiner
  • Cyber Security Consultant
  • Cyber Security Incident Handler
  • Information Security Analyst
  • Security Analyst
  • Information Security Incident Responder
  • Cyber Threat Analyst
  • Security Engineer
  • Computer Security Specialist

The Bottom Line

Attaining an online CCNA certification in Security is not enough to push you to the top in your career. You must go for specialization in Cybersecurity Specialist certification, especially SCYBER, to bolster your chances of securing a thriving career in Cyber Security. That said, it can be very difficult for working professionals and students to attend regular classroom programs due to their busy schedules. At Unanth, you can easily find an online CCNA training and course, among other leading industry programs. We are a next generation platform that helps both, tutors to create and publish online tutorials, for students to get easy access to a high quality ccna training course online, without having to run from pillar to post. To learn more about our online courses, send an email to You can also access our tutorial database by clicking here.